Academic Achievement Awards

Academic achievement awards recognize skiers for outstanding academic achievement beginning at the 4th grade level. To qualify the skier must be a current member of the Sugar Bowl Ski Team and have applied in writing for the current year’s participation in the Sugar Bowl Academic Awards Program. (Home schooling is accepted).  

Lists of past recipients: 20132012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 

Coaches' Heart Award

Picked by our coaches for the purpose of acknowledging and rewarding positive character traits (including: consistent effort, willingness to help others and positive attitude) demonstrated by our athletes.

Full list of past recipients.

Volunteer of the Year Award

 The Volunteer of the Year award acknowledges the parent(s) who go above and beyond in donating their time and lending a hand. 

Full list of past recipients. 

Tricia Hellman Gibbs

Sportsmanship Award

Named in honor of the Sugar Bowl Ski Team Foundation founder who has given so much to our community and others, this award goes to one boy and girl annually who exhibit the following qualities:

  • Consistent effort
  • Willingness to help others, including other team members and coaches
  • The ability to win and/or lose with grace
  • Effort to attend all assigned training sessions
  • A desire to work hard and improve their level of skiing, regardless of what level they start from

Each of these athletes will receive a $250 scholarship towards the following year's membership dues. These athletes' names will be engraved on the perpetual SBST Sportsmanship Award trophy.

Full list of past recipients. 

Golden Whistle Award

Acknowledging coaches who exemplify the “double goal coaching” ethic.

Full list of past recipients.